The Portuguese plan

A few people have asked me to do a follow up post to reflect on my recent Camino..

It’s been just over two months since I got back and it feels like a lifetime ago. Since getting back I’ve only managed to get away for one decent walk and I often find myself looking through my Camino photos or just staring longingly at my rucksack. I still chat to the various members of team tortoise and there’s been the odd mention of getting back together and attempting something early next year.. for me that’s too far away. I want to get back on the path.

This week I decided to get things moving. Step one, decide where to go. Step two, get the guide book..

By this point I was getting giddy, I cleared a few weeks in September from my diary (to be fair the only thing I had planned was a beard trim and a night watching grease AND grease 2 (coooool riiider)).

Yesterday I booked my flight, Manchester to Porto for mid September. The plan is to walk from Porto to Santiago and then if time and funds are still available, on to Finisterre.  Time to start sorting the walking gear out.. luckily I have most things from my previous walk. Socks and shoes were the only things I had to buy again.

In the midst of Camino 2 planning I was also inspired to get my last Credential/Compostela framed.

4 weeks to wait and hopefully I’ll get a couple of training walks in before I go. Luckily I have a very understanding partner, I think I’m even getting waved off at the airport!

Thank you for reading my ramblings, If you would like to support me on my journey please click on the link below.

https://paypal.me/caminoandy

16 thoughts on “The Portuguese plan

  1. I am happy to see that you are planning to return to walk another camino! The pull of the Camino is weird and wonderful, and hard to resist. I, too, will be leaving on Oct.12 for my second camino this year, and another hospitalera posting (Salamanca). Enjoy your walk! I look forward to following you adventures again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good man. Food places too please! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Looking forward to your ramblings. I’m doing the same trip on the central route starting on the 29th September. I would appreciate decent room recommendations!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. From this moment my sole purpose is to find great rooms for you! Mind you you’re only 10 days behind so you’ll probably overtake me 🙂

      Like

  4. Glad you’re doing it all again,looking forward to the updates x

    Like

  5. Well maybe I’ll see you in Santiago!!! I’m leaving Leon on the 11th, doing the Salvator and Primitivo, probably arriving in Santiago on 26/27 , then on to Muxia.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Th I’m hoping to take it slow and try squeeze ab extra couple days in so possibly a day or two after you.. mind you I’ve tried making plans before and they never turn out that way

      Like

  6. Since we got home, we’ve been trying to use walking as a means of transportation whenever possible – trying to keep the habit. It’s not easy where we live – cars, cars, and more cars. No sidewalks in many places… We are also feeling the urge to plan another camino! Good luck on this one – as a veteran peregrino, you are already more prepared than the last time! Looking forward to updates!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I shall be waving you off, I’ll make sure I have plenty of tissues, lol and maybe a marmalade sandwich for the drive home. 😘 Happy Adventuring xxx Have a few wines on me 😘😘😘

    Liked by 1 person

  8. great picture Andy. you got the Camino bug now. Avagooden. keith

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Are these donations for charity?

    Like

    1. No, sorry, I should have made it clearer. I’m hoping to be able to fund some of my walking so that I can prolong my trips and therefore write more. The link I added to this post was a test to see if it works properly, I’ll make sure I explain better in subsequent posts

      Like

  10. You Greedy Devil. 2 Caminos in a year. You obviously enjoy a struggle and pain as well as wine. Are you doing the central or the coastal – or a bit of both. We are looking forward to your blog. By the way love your camino tale. Very Chaucer and Pythonese. Buen Camino Planning

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hi Andy, can you only donate through PayPal? Hope you have another great adventure. It feels a bit like you’re a hobbit on your way to mordor 😂😂😂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s only PayPal, to be honest I don’t really know what in doing.. I’m sure you’re shocked to hear this..

      Like

  12. So jealous, if NZ wasn’t so far away I would come back for September walk for sure

    Like

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close